Banner ad

Commission Information

Printer-friendly version
The First 5 LA Board of Commissioners is comprised of 17 members (nine voting, four ex-officio, four alternates). The board includes voting members appointed by each of the Los Angeles County supervisors and the L.A. County departments of Children and Family Services, Public Health and Mental Health. The Chairman of the L.A. County Board of Supervisors also serves as Chairman of the First 5 LA Commission. The Board also includes representatives from other educational, children and families organizations throughout the county. The Board of Commissioners meets on the second Thursday of each month at 1:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated at the First 5 LA offices. All meetings are open to the public and agendas are posted at least 72 hours in advance. Please check our calendar for all updated meeting information and scroll below for Commission meeting packets, summaries, and minutes.

Commission Members

Don Knabe
Commission Chair 
Los Angeles County Supervisor

Nancy Haruye Au
Vice Chair
Appointed by: Supervisor Don Knabe,
Fourth District

Jane Boeckmann
Appointed by: Supervisor Michael Antonovich, Fifth District

Philip L. Browning
Representing: L.A. County Department of Children & Family Services 

Arturo Delgado, Ed.D.
Representing: Los Angeles County Office of Education 

Duane Dennis
Appointed by: Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas, Second District 

Sandra Figueroa-Villa
Appointed by: Supervisor Gloria Molina,
First District 

Cynthia Anne Harding, M.P.H.
Interim Director
Representing: Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

Neal Kaufman, M.D., M.P.H.
Appointed by: Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky, Third District 

Commission Meeting Summaries

Commission Meeting Packets

view all packets »

    Program and Planning Committee

    Budget and Finance Committee

    Executive Committee

Ex Officio Representatives

Patricia Curry
Representing: L.A. County Commission for Children and Families

Karla Pleitéz Howell
Representing: Policy Roundtable for Child Care and Development 

Deanne Tilton Durfee
Inter-Agency Council on Child Abuse and Neglect (ICAN)

Marvin J. Southard, D.S.W.
Representing: L.A. County Department of Mental Health 


Christopher R. Thompson, M.D. 
Medical Director, Juvenile Justice Mental Health Program, Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health
Represents Department of Mental Health

Sylvia S. Swilley
Appointed by Mark Ridley-Thomas

Fesia Davenport 
Chief Deputy Director, Department of Children & Family Services
Represents: DCFS

Suzanne Bostwick
Interim Director, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Programs, Department of Public Health
Represents Department of Public Health

Dr. Joseph Ybarra
Deputy Superintendent of Los Angeles County Office of Education
Representing Los Angeles County Office of Education 

Executive Director

Kim Belshé

Latest Commission Meeting Audio 

  • November 14, 2013 (mp3) Right click this link and choose "save link as" to download this audio file

Commission Meeting Notes (approved)

view all meeting notes »

Commission Transcripts Archive »